close
Custom IC Fit to Me?

Full Custom IC


From the previous article "Customized IC—What is it", we can know that the features of fully customized IC are as follows: :

 Unit cost minimization
 Maximize product value
 Maximize product performance
 Product efficiency optimization
 Minimize product volume
    Improve product reliability
 Substantial protection of customers intellectual property rights

Custom IC  meet your need?


  IC designers and developers will subdivide customized ICs into ASIC and ASSP (Application Specific Standard Product). From the perspective of IC design engineers, the distinction between the two will be based on technology, function, application, etc. Wait to separate, but if you look at the end customer’s product area, project attributes, and customer confidentiality requirements, in fact, the real difference between ASIC and ASSP lies in the degree of confidentiality protection required by the customer and the ownership of related rights:

【Fig3】
Custom IC Fit to Me?

  

It can be seen from Figure 3 that the principle of ASIC, that is, the single exclusive nature is very strong, including that it can only be used by a single customer and limited to specific industries. Owned by the customer, when the customer's products are mass-produced, the same production line of a single fixed OEM/ODM vendor is limited. The ASSP can be used by multiple customers in a non-competitive and straightforward manner. There can be multiple core sources, customers can invest in different OEM/ODM, and the related rights belong to the supplier.

The main difference between the two lies in the degree of technical protection that customers want. This is the most critical reason why customers desire to develop their own ASICs.

Looking back at the main consumer electronics products in the market, because various ICs have widely used standard products, each IC manufacturer has a public version solution (Total Solution) for reference, and even an integrated solution provider (Turnkey Provider or Turnkey House) The complete solution (Turnkey Solution) includes the BOM List, PCB steel plate file (gerber), and SMT house. In principle, customers follow the instructions of the complete solution to construct according to the drawings and take care of the parts completely. Order the list and submit it to the SMT production line with complete parameters for trial production. The functions and safety regulations of the product will not be far apart. Therefore, the major system factories mainly focusing on consumer electronics are mainly time races. Consider, and in the second edition, based on more rigorous firmware prevention behavior, more active detection of firmware software, to downgrade the hardware and seek to reduce the hardware cost and production cost.

If your product project is the same as the consumer electronics in the previous paragraph, it is urgent in time and using discrete standard products may be the only choice; also, if the product is special, it is subject to development and design costs. , Production costs and other budgetary constraints, or economic scale restrictions due to the small number of production sets, low-integration standard products are indeed the most feasible way. It's just that the products made from discrete standard products are too easy to be "learned" by reverse engineering. Even if the product is filled with waterproof and heat-dissipating vinyl, it takes at most one hour to dig it out.

Indeed, there is no protection at all. Competitors only need to buy one or two and go back to dismantle them, and then they can learn from them and develop similar or even improved evolutionary products. Even if the competitor buys it back for dismantling, it is still unknown (for example: IC printing has been worn out), but ask a few IC OEMs or solution providers, there will definitely be volunteers-that is to provide their own solutions and want to become a competitor "On time-suppliers".

The greatest value of ASICs that can exist in the market and remain unshakable is precisely because ASICs are the most effective way to protect technological intellectual and financial capabilities compared to patents. It is also because of this that AirAsia can earn a place in the market, because AirAsia understands that what customers are most eager for is to achieve the perfect balance of performance and efficiency under the premise of adequate protection of technology crystallization. If the technological crystallization cannot be fully protected, the perfect technological crystallization that has been worked hard will only be quickly "learned" by competitors.



 

↓ Knowing more Custom IC ↓

Contact us
close

關閉
客製化IC 符合我需求嗎

全客製化IC


  從前一篇「客製化IC  是什麼」可以得知,全客製化IC的特色如下:

 單位成本最小化
 產品價值最大化
 產品性能最大化
 產品效率最佳化
 產品體積最小化
 提升產品信賴性
 實質保護客戶智慧財產權

客製化IC  符合我需求嗎


  IC設計者和開發者會將客製化IC再細分為ASIC和ASSP(Application Specific Standard Product,特殊應用標準品),以IC設計工程師的角度看待,兩者間區分會以技術、功能、應用等等去區隔,但若以終端客戶的產品領域、專案屬性以及客戶保密需求來看,實際上ASIC跟ASSP的真正差異點會在客戶所需的保密保護程度,以及相關權利歸屬:

【圖三】
客製化IC 符合我需求嗎

  由圖三可以看出,ASIC的原則,也就是單一專屬性質很強烈,包括僅能單一客戶、限定特定產業使用,晶片核芯(Core)只能惟一供應鏈(Only Source),且相關權利歸客戶所有,客戶產品量產時,限定單一固定OEM/ODM商的同一產線。而ASSP則是可以非競爭性直的多客戶同時用,可以有多個core source、客戶可投不同OEM/ODM,相關權利歸屬歸供應商所有。

  兩者間的最主要差異,就在於客戶想要的技術保護到哪種程度,這正是客戶渴望開發完全自有ASIC的最關鍵主因。

  回頭來看市場主力的消費性電子產品,因為各種IC都有廣泛應用的標準品,各IC原廠都有公版方案(Total Solution)可參考,甚至整合方案商(Turnkey Provider或稱Turnkey House)的完整方案(Turnkey Solution)是料件清單(BOM List)、印刷電路板的鋼板檔(PCB gerber)、打件廠(SMT house)都一應俱全,客戶原則上遵照完整方案的吩咐按圖施工、完全照料件清單去下單,並交給既有參數全備的SMT產線試產量產,產品的功能和安規就會相去不遠了,所以以消費性電子為主的各大系統廠,主要是時間競賽考量,並於第二版時,建基於更嚴謹的韌體預防行為,韌軟體的更多主動偵測,來將硬體downgrade而尋求壓低硬體成本和生產成本。

  倘若您的產品專案跟前段的消費性電子一樣,有時程急迫性,採用離散式標準品所兜成的方案,可能是惟一選擇;又,假使產品是有特殊性,但受制於開發設計成本、生產成本等等預算限制,或是生產套數不多的經濟規模限制,低整合的標準品也確實是最可行的路。只不過,離散式的標準品兜出來的產品,過於容易被逆向工程『學』走成果,即便產品灌滿防水散熱黑膠,挖乾淨也頂多一小時。

  的確,毫無保護性可言。競爭對手只消買一兩台回去拆解,就能學走而開發相似、甚至藉機改良的進化版產品。又縱使競爭對手買回去拆解還是不知所以然(例如: IC印字已磨掉),但多問幾間IC原廠或方案商,必定會有自告奮勇的廠商出現—也就是提供solution而想成『準供應商』。

  ASIC能存在市場而屹立不搖的最大價值,正是因為比起專利,ASIC才是最有實質保護技術智財能力的一條路。也是因為如此,亞德才能在市場掙得一席之地,因為亞德深知客戶最渴求的,是技術結晶獲得充分保護的前提下,來達到性能和效率的完美平衡。若技術結晶無法獲得充分保護,那辛苦做出來的完美技術結晶也只是很快就被競爭對手給「效法」跟進。


 


↓進一步了解ASIC↓

關閉