close
What is Custom IC

Full Custom IC

APT specializes in ASIC (application specific integrated circuit) development and design services; by integrating global professional technology and dedicated service, we will bring our customers:

Unit cost minimization
Maximize product value
Maximize product performance
Product efficiency optimization
Minimize product volume
Improve product reliability
Improve product reliability

 
What is Custom IC

Digital integrated circuits can be classified into Standard Logic IC and Application Specific IC.

【圖一】
What is Custom IC

Fig1- Taking digital IC as an example, according to product characteristics, it can be roughly divided into standard products (SLIC, widely used IC) and special products (ASIC, special application IC). Among them, ASIC will be further divided into Fully-customized and Semi-customized



【圖二】
What is Custom IC

Because the fully customized IC is tailor-made, the development time is long, the development cost of logic design, layout design and photomask is high, and it is CP (wafer test) for mass production testing of wafers and ICs that can be produced smoothly. ), FT (package test) and other test design also need to build a complete platform and program from scratch. If the previous development stage was to be fast and not cautious enough, the development period may be longer due to a revision, so choosing a partner developer is the key to shortening the development period.

Although full customization has high development costs and long development periods, it is also tailored for all needs. The performance and efficiency of the chip will be optimized towards perfection (the standby circuit that is not needed is depleted. Almost non-existent), the number of chip functions will be just right and sufficient (compact and no cumbersome), and the right number of functions means that the circuits that are not needed are minimized, which creates a fully customized IC. Big advantage-minimum unit cost.

The semi-customization is based on the IC design company’s off-the-shelf chip core (chip core), eliminating many early and mid-term logic design and physical layout design, and the timeliness is faster, but under the premise of selecting existing cores, There may still be too many functions, so the performance efficiency ratio is better than the standard product, but it is still not as good as the full customization; the medium to slightly higher development cost is matched with the lower unit cost than the standard product. For cases where the volume is not large or the timeliness is relatively short, semi-customized IC is a good countermeasure.

If the difference between the two is still not clear enough, you can regard full customization as open mold casting, and semi-customization as 3D printing. If the volume is small, the cost of mold opening cannot be amortized, and 3D printing is relatively economical; But when the quantity is large, the opener will benefit from the extremely low unit price. Or you can regard full customization as open-plate printing, semi-customization as printer printing, and standard products as entrusted store photocopying; photocopying is pure copying, which can only be drawn on paper afterwards The cost of a single sheet printed by a laser printer is lower than that of outsourced photocopying, and can be edited in advance, but the cost of the printer, ink or toner must be paid first; as for the fully customized printing , Not only can it be edited in advance, it can be printed with more choices of paper shape, material, weight and thickness, and the types of inks that can be picked are diversified (deinking, durability, water resistance, and fullness of color), and the unit cost is extremely low. The disadvantage is that you must first invest in the cost development version.......


↓ Knowing more Custom IC ↓

Contact APT
close

關閉
客製化IC—是什麼

Fully-customized ASIC Design

亞德專注於特殊應用積體電路(ASIC)的開發設計服務;籍由整合全球專業的技術與熱誠的服務,為客戶的ASIC帶來:

· 單位成本最小化
· 產品價值最大化
· 產品性能最大化
· 產品效率最佳化
· 產品體積最小化
· 提升產品信賴性
· 實質保護客戶智慧財產權

 
客製化IC—是什麼?

  說到客製化ICASIC Application Specific IC,又稱特殊應用IC,現多稱客製化IC),就不得不談到數位積體電路的大致分類:標準品和客製品;邏輯IC是數位IC的另一稱法,主要處理的是01的訊號為主,諸如各種中央處理器(CPU)、微處理器(MPU)、微控制器(MCU)、圖形處理器(GPU)、數位訊號處理器(DSP)……;當然IC種類仍類比IC、類比數位混合IC、物理性質的光電力學相關感知器(Sensor)及相關控制器(Controller),數位/類比轉換器(D/A Converter)及類比/數位轉換器(A/D Converter)等等,族繁不及備載。

【圖一】

客製化IC—是什麼

  圖一以數位
IC舉例,按產品特性可粗分為標準品(SLIC,廣泛應用IC)和特殊品(ASIC,特殊應用IC,現多稱客製化IC)。其中ASIC會再區分為全客製化Fully-customized和半客製化Semi-customized

【圖二】
客製化IC—是什麼

  全客製化IC因為是量身定製,開發時程長、邏輯設計、佈局設計及光罩等等開發費用高,且為使晶圓和IC能順利生產的量產測試CP(晶圓測試)FT(封裝測試)等等測試性設計亦需從頭建立完整平台和程式。此前之開發階段若為求快速而不夠謹慎,恐面臨改版而導致開發期間更長,故選對合作開發商是縮短開發期的關鍵。

  雖然全客製化有高開發成本、開發期間長的痛,但也因為全需求量身訂作化,晶片的性能效率對應關係會是趨近完美的最佳化(備而不用的待機電路耗損幾乎不存在),晶片功能數也會是剛剛好的夠用程度(精實無累贅),而恰到好處的功能數,意味著備而不用的電路最少化,這造就了全客製化IC的一大優勢—單位成本最低化。

  而半客製化IC設計公司以現成晶片核芯(chip core)為基礎,省去許多前中期的邏輯設計和實體布局設計,時效性較快,但以現有核芯去選的前提下,功能數多少還是可能存在過多的情況,故性能效率比是比標準品理想沒錯,但還是比不上全客製化;中等到略高的開發成本,搭上比標準品低的單位成本,倘若量不大、或是時效性較趕的案件,半客製化IC不失為好的對策。

  若還是不夠清楚兩者差異,可以將全客製化看做是開模鑄造,半客製化是3D列印,量小的話,開模成本無法攤提,3D列印相對較符合經濟效益;但量大時,開模者便受惠於極低單價。或者也可以將全客製化看成是開版印刷,半客製化看成是印表機列印,標準品看成是委託店家影印;影印是純複製,僅能事後在紙張上另外畫記、註記,而雷射印表機列印的單張成本會比委外影印低,且可以進行事前編輯,但要先負擔印表機、油墨或碳粉成本;至於全客製化的印刷,不僅能事前編輯,能印刷的紙張形態、材質、磅數厚度選擇性更多,能挑的油墨種類多元(退墨性、持久性、抗水性、色澤飽滿度),且單位成本極低,缺點是要先投成本開版……
關閉